August 15, 2018  

Supplied by wpa2015 Administrator from wpa2015

A large group of South African athletes will represent the African continent at the upcoming IAAF Continental Cup to be held in Ostrava, Czech Republic between September 8-9, after the Confederation of African Athletics (CAA) announced its team on Tuesday.

WPA’s SA 100m and 110mH champions Simon Magakwe and Antonio Alkana have been included in SA’s contingent of 20 athletes, who will make up more than a quarter of the 74-member African team, which consists of 39 men and 35 women. 

Among the athletes who feature in the team are Cornel Fredericks, who will defend his Continental Cup crown after winning 400m Hurdles gold at the previous edition of the showpiece in Marrakech, Morocco four years ago, plus experienced athlete Khotso Mokoena, who returns in search of another podium after securing silver in 2014. 

The African team, consisting of athletes from 18 different countries, was selected based on performances at the 21st CAA African Senior Championships in Asaba, Nigeria on 1-5 August.

Though two athletes were selected in each discipline, only one was considered from each nation. 

Other South Africans in the squad include versatile middle-distance star Caster Semenya, in-form Long Jump star Ruswahl Samaai and sprinter Akani Simbine. 

The IAAF Continental Cup, a team event which will be contested based on a points system with athletes competing in straight finals over two days of competition, will feature squads from Africa, the Americas, Europe and Asia-Pacific. 

Congratulations to all athletes who have made the African team and trust they will defend the honour of the continent and of our country they were selected from. 

“We are proud of them and are confident that they will go to Ostrava and make us all happy,” said the President of ASA, Aleck Skhosana.

The SA Team Members:

Caster Semenya (400m/ 800m/ 4x400m), Rikenette Steenkamp (100mH), Zinzi Chabangu (Triple Jump), Ischke Senekal ( Shot Put/Discus), Jo-Ané Van Dyk (Javelin), Akani Simbine (100m/ 4x100m), Ncincilili Titi (200m/4x100m), Phora Thapelo (400m/ 4x400m), Antonio Alkana (110mH), Cornel Fredericks (400mH), Simon Magakwe ( 4x100m), Henricho Bruintjies (4x100m), Emile Erasmus (4x100m), Ruswahl Samaai (Long Jump), Khotso Mokoena (Triple Jump), Christopher Moleya (High Jump), Hendrick Van Wyk (Pole Vault), Victor Hogan (Discus), Tshepang Makhethe (Hammer) and Phil-Mar Janse Van Rensburg (Javelin)

Issued By ASA