March 5, 2018  

Supplied by wpa2015 Administrator from wpa2015

The WPA Senior and Combined Events Championships were held in Parow, Cape Town on Friday and Saturday 2 – 3 March 2018.  

The top speedsters in the province did not disappoint with Roscoe Engel of Tygerberg Athletics Club winning both the 100m and 200m respectively in 10.25s and 20.72s. Alice Adeolu managed the same feat in the women's sprints, winning in 12.43s and 24.91s. 

Antonio Alkana dominated the 110m Hurdles in a time of 14.10s. The 400m for women saw Juli Vercuiel take the honours in 56.44s. Rodwell Ndlovu won his 8th consecutive 400m title in 48.08s in the absence of Kyle Appel, who retired hurt after taking Silver in the 200m final in 21.00s. 

In the women's 800m, Mandie Brandt took the title in 2min14.75. Duwayne Philander outsprinted Emiele Paulsen in the 1500m to take victory in 3min54.28, while Anél Terblanche managed to tear away from Brandt and Firsova over the final lap of the women's race, taking the win in 4min35.87. 

In the 400m hurdles, Duncan Frans took a hundredth of a second off his personal best when he won the race in 55.45s. A battle between Duran Faro and Luthando Siboya excited the crowd in the 800m final, with Faro showing his experience by taking the title in 1min52.93. 

Thalosang Tshireletso entertained the spectators in the long jump for men with a 7.40m jump. He also claimed the title in the triple jump with a distance of 15.95m. Kayla Smit won the women's hammer throw title with a distance of 46.63m, while Rocco van Rooyen won the men's javelin with a throw of 72.67m. 

Siboniso Soldaka overcame an early challenge by Vincent Fortuin in the 3000m Steeple winning in 8min56.59. Kyla van Graan took the women's title in the 5000m in 17min05.54. The 10000m runners had to overcome the temperature and wind in their race. Lukhanyo Nobakada took command of the race after the half way mark and never looked back, the winning time of 31min32.43 testament to his grit under the conditions. Nolubabalo Dyonase took the women's gold medal in 41min43.40. Gideon Cillie took the top step in the walker’s race in 47min37s.

Photo Credit: Roger Sedres